Ulrike Haage &
Mark Ravenhill

Rete Mirabile│Wundernetz

A micro-opera in ten acts (approx. 40 min.) by Ulrike Haage (concept, composition) & Mark Ravenhill (libretto)

Performances: February 12 (no tickets left), 19 (no tickets left), 26 (no tickets left) and March 5 (no tickets left) at 6:30 and 7:30 pm
Reservations required via: kunst@mfn-berlin.de, no entrance fee

Please keep in mind to pick up your reserved tickets 15 minutes before the performance starts. Otherwise your tickets will be given to interested other guests without prior reservation.


A Rete Mirabile (Engl. Wonderful Net) is the branching of an artery into a dense network of the finest blood vessels, reuniting to form not a vein, but another artery. In fish the Retia Mirabile serve as thermoregulators via countercurrent heat exchange.

Wundernetz | Rete Mirabile is inspired by the material content, structure and aesthetics of the wet collection in the Museum für Naturkunde. The composer Ulrike Haage made numerous visits to the museum, exploring the site, its atmosphere and its audio acoustic conditions. She familiarised herself with the research collection through conversations with its curator, Peter Bartsch, and experimented with specimen jars as sounding bodies. Haage translated her exploration of the space’s material and history into an associative fabric of sound, which oscillates between strictly repetitive minimal music and the echoes of Renaissance music. Choreographed as a modern travelling theatre, the concert-performance takes its listeners across three rooms in which the instrumentation responds to exhibits and displays: Glass, metal, wood, fur and leather. Moving with the singers and musicians from room to room, the audience experiences the work as an unfolding, rhythmic flow of time: as the time-based quality of music. The wandering ears, eyes and muscles of the audience thus travel through the museum, through language and sounds, through cultural history and through changing styles of art.

Mark Ravenhill’s libretto was written to the existing composition. It is inspired by excerpts from the treatise Vampyroteuthis infernalis, written by philospopher Vilém Flusser. It is a highly original essay on the vampire squid’s perceptual experience of the world, which he presents as diametrically opposed to that of humans. The actual specimen, first described in 1903, can be seen in the Museum für Naturkunde Berlin. Ravenhill approaches the material poetically, critically and symbolically, and the octopus of his text can be read as representing the wealth of the exhibits in the wet collection. It is an animal that has triggered thought experiments throughout millennia of European intellectual history, and which since the era of historic Romanticism, has provided material for science-fiction, poetry and imaginative philosophical thinking. Ravenhill turns the octopus into a symbolic character. The ten songs of the micro-opera are composed in different poetic genres, thus reflecting the shifts of perspective and imagery between human and octopus. Through his poetico-philosophical perception of the animal, Ravenhill encourages a reflection on human hybris and impermanence.

The interplay between composition and libretto form a work that relates to the English Baroque tradition. As was common at that time, Wundernetz | Rete Mirabile stimulates thought through sensory experience, thereby interweaving an artistic view of the natural sciences with social reflection and an experience of the wondrous to form an acutely contemporary work of art.


Vocal quartet: Christina Andersson, soprano; Regina Jakobi, alto; Daniel Steiner, tenor; Jonas Böhm, bass
Percussion, marimba, vibraphone: Almut Lustig, Brigitte Haas
Technicians: Philipp Fiedler (lighting, stage)
Amanuensis: Michael Essl
Assistant director: Christina Haufe
Curator for Sound Art: Gaby Hartel

Please note: The maximum audience per performance is 60 people. The audience will move through the museum space together with the musicians and singers; therefore there will be no seating available. Please bring warm clothes: In order to preserve the objects in the wet collection it is quite cold.

Ulrike Haage &  <br />
Mark Ravenhill
Die Nass-Sammlung © Museum für Naturkunde / Carola Radke

Ulrike Haage &
Mark Ravenhill

Rete Mirabile│Wundernetz

Ein Singspiel (ca. 40 min.) von Ulrike Haage (Konzept, Komposition) und Mark Ravenhill (Libretto)

Vorstellungen: 12., 19., 26.02. und am 05.03.2018
Beginn: jeweils um 18:30 Uhr und 19:30 Uhr
Reservierung erforderlich unter: kunst@mfn-berlin.de, Eintritt frei.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Eintrittskarten bis 15 min. vor Beginn der Vorstellung abgeholt sein müssen. Nicht rechtzeitig abgeholte Eintrittskarten werden an Interessenten ohne Reservierung weitergegeben.

 

Ein Rete mirabile (lateinisch Wundernetz) ist eine Verzweigung einer Arterie in ein Geflecht aus feinsten Arterien, das sich anschließend nicht zu einer Vene, sondern wiederum zu einer Arterie vereinigt. Bei Fischen dienen Wundernetze als Gegenstrom-Wärmeaustauscher der Thermoregulation.

Rete Mirabile | Wundernetz ist inspiriert von Material, Struktur und Ästhetik der Nasssammlung im Museum für Naturkunde. Auf zahlreichen Besuchen erkundete die Komponistin Ulrike Haage den Ort, seine Atmosphäre und die Klangbedingungen. Im Gespräch mit Peter Bartsch, dem Kustos der Fischsammlung, machte sie sich mit einer Forschungssammlung vertraut und experimentierte mit Aufbewahrungsgläsern als Klangkörpern. Haages forschendes Herantasten an die Materie in ihrer Umgebung übersetzte sie musikalisch in ein assoziatives Klanggewebe, das zwischen streng-repetitiver Minimal Music und imaginativen Echos der Renaissancemusik oszilliert. Inszeniert als moderne Wanderbühne antwortet die Instrumentierung auf Exponate und Präsentationsmobiliar der drei Räume, durch die die Prozession zieht: Glas, Metall, Holz, Fell und Leder. Im gemeinsamen Gang mit den SängerInnen und MusikerInnen erlebt das Publikum das Werk als einen sich entfaltenden, rhythmisierten Zeitstrom – als das, was Musik immer auch ist: Sprache und Klänge bewegen sich mit den wandernden Ohren, Augen und Muskeln des Publikums durch das Museum und gleichzeitig auch durch Kulturgeschichte und Kunststile.

Mark Ravenhill schrieb sein Libretto zur bereits vorliegenden Komposition. Der Text spielt zuweilen mit Auszügen aus der Abhandlung Vampyroteuthis infernalis des Literaturtheoretikers Vilém Flusser über das Welterleben des Vampirtintenfisches, welches er als eines dem menschlichen [Er]Leben radikal entgegengesetztes präsentiert. Das 1903 beschriebene Typusexemplar dieses Tieres befindet sich im Museum für Naturkunde Berlin. Ravenhill nähert sich dem Stoff poetisch, zeitkritisch, symbolisch und rückt stellvertretend für die Exponate der Nasssammlung, den Oktopus ins Zentrum seines Textes. Damit wählt er ein Tier, das die europäische Geistesgeschichte seit Jahrtausenden zu Gedankenexperimenten beflügelt und spätestens seit der Romantik Stoff für Science Fiction, Dichtung und fabulierende Philosophie ist. Bei Ravenhill wird der Oktopus zur Sinnfigur. Die zehn Gesänge der Mikrooper sind in unterschiedlichen dichterischen Genres verfasst und spiegeln so die Perspektiv- und Bildwechsel vom Menschen zum Tintenfisch. Mit seiner dichterisch-philosophischen Wahrnehmung des Oktopus regt Ravenhill zum Nachdenken über menschliche Hybris und Vergänglichkeit an.

Im Zusammenspiel von Komposition und Libretto entsteht ein Werk, das der vitalen englischen Barocktradition verwandt ist. So wie damals üblich, stößt Rete Mirabile |Wundernetz Denken durch sensorische Erfahrung an und verwebt einen künstlerischen Blick auf Naturwissenschaft mit gesellschaftlicher Reflexion und der Erfahrung des Wundersamen zu einer akut zeitgenössischen Kunst.

 

Vokalquartett: Christina Andersson, Sopran; Regina Jakobi, Alto; Daniel Steiner, Tenor; Jonas Böhm, Bass
Perkussion, Marimbaphon, Vibraphon: Almut Lustig, Brigitte Haas
Technik: Philipp Fiedler (Licht, Bühne)
Amanuensis: Michael Essl
Regie-Assistenz: Christina Haufe
Kuratorin für Klangkunst: Gaby Hartel

 

Ulrike Haage &  <br />
Mark Ravenhill
Die Nass-Sammlung © Museum für Naturkunde / Carola Radke