Serotonin

Parcours dans la mer de ciel. A parcours through the ocean of heaven. Or: the Levitite

Listen to the story of van Berg and his adventure!

In this five-part intervention created by the duo Serotonin, the artists have developed five acoustic dioramas located in three exhibition rooms to comment subtly and productively on the history of research and collecting at the Museum für Naturkunde. The acoustic dioramas consist of five small presentation spaces that have been designed and constructed by the artists themselves – white cubes set up in peep-boxes belonging to the museum’s collection.

These visual, audio, and conceptual exhibits correspond to the five chapters of a bizarre expeditionary tale, written and produced by Serotonin. The year is 1884. The recently established German nation is struggling to gain recognition and a prominent place on a map of the world. The setting is the Tiergarten park in Berlin, where the crown prince grants a highly unofficial audience, and a cave in the future colony of Deutsch-Südwestafrika. Inspired by the levitation of a floating virgin presented in a variety show at the city’s Wintergarten venue, the young van Berg initially dreams of “an imperial fleet in the ocean of heaven”, but ultimately, thanks to a chain of coincidences to do with complex political interests of the time, becomes the leader of an expedition to Afrika.

Serotonin has turned the story of this research expedition into a humorous show compressing cultural history from a critical perspective. The five exhibits contain both sculptural and narrative elements, broaching complex topics such as crossing boundaries, defining oneself through the other, and the origins of national identity and a sense of Heimat.

Marie-Luise Goerke and Matthias Pusch are Serotonin. The intervention is curated by Gaby Hartel. Insights into the creative process can be found here!

On 3 September 1884 van Berg finally sits with Prince Wilhelm on a bench in the Tiergarten park.

Serotonin
© Museum für Naturkunde / Carola Radke

Serotonin

Parcours dans la mer de ciel. Parcours durch das Himmelsmeer. Oder: der Levitit

Die ganze Geschichte von van Bergs Abenteuern hören Sie hier !

Das Duo Serotonin hat eine fünfteilige Intervention entwickelt, fünf akustische Dioramen, mit denen die Künstler in drei Ausstellungsräumen subtil und produktiv die Forschungs- und Sammlungsgeschichte des Museums für Naturkunde kommentieren. Die akustischen Dioramen bestehen aus fünf kleinen, von den Künstlern gebauten und gestalteten Präsentationsräumen, White Cubes, die in Guckkästen aus dem Museumsbestand eingelassen sind.

Diese Hör-, Denk-und Sehstationen entsprechen den fünf Kapiteln einer von Serotonin geschriebenen und produzierten skurrilen Expeditionsgeschichte. Zeit der Handlung: 1884. Die noch junge Nation Deutschland ringt um Macht auf der weltpolitischen Bühne. Orte der Handlung: der Berliner Tiergarten, wo der Kronprinz eine höchst inoffizielle Audienz abhält, und eine Höhle in der künftigen Kolonie Deutsch-Südwestafrika. Angeregt von einer Levitationsshow mit schwebender Jungfrau im Berliner Wintergarten, träumt der junge van Berg zunächst von „einer kaiserlichen Flotte im Himmelsmeer“, um dann durch eine Verkettung interessenspolitischer Zufälle Leiter einer Expedition in Afrika zu werden.

Serotonin hat diese Geschichte einer Forschungsreise ins Komische pointiert und kulturkritisch verdichtet. Die Stationen sind skulptural und erzählerisch ausgestattet: Sie schneiden komplexe Themen an, wie etwa das Überschreiten von Grenzen, die Selbstdefinition im Fremden, die Entstehung von Heimat- und Nationalgefühlen.

Serotonin, das sind Marie-Luise Goerke und Matthias Pusch. Das Berliner Audiokunstduo produziert Hörspiele, Hörbücher und Klanginstallationen. Kuratorin: Gaby Hartel. Einblicke in den Entstehungsprozess gibt es hier!

Am 3.9.1884 sitzt van Berg endlich mit Prinz Wilhelm auf einer Bank im Tiergarten.

 

 

Serotonin
© Museum für Naturkunde / Carola Radke