Klara Hobza


How are human beings perceived by a spider? Or by a squid? In Klara Hobza’s experimental machine, the Animaloculomat, visitors to the museum can gain an insight into how human beings might have been perceived by a wide variety of animals. Hobza’s hands-on project can be fun and a learning experience for anyone.

Klara Hobza’s artistic works carry within them the elective affinity of charm and comedy, of steadfast analytics and fear of failure. The artist’s experiments evolve through the media of sculpture, video, performance and drawings. The stories of her works tread the fine line between science, fiction and fantasy.

Klara Hobza (b. 1975 in Plzeň/Pilsen, Czech Republic) studied at the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich, at Columbia University, New York, and at the Rogue Film School, Los Angeles. She now lives and works in Berlin.

Past works include Die Schlickschlacht zu Schillig (2016), Die große Basler Gipfelbergung (2014), Moving with Fervour into Moments of Levity (2012), Diving through Europe (2010 – probably 2035), Nay I’ll Have a Starling (2006 – present) and Paper Airplanes (2004 – present). Her autobiography, a first version of which was written by Hobza in 2002 from the perspective of 2066, ten years after her projected death, is being penned as a conceptual self-portrait. The autobiography has so far undergone one revision around 2012.

Curator for visual art: Bergit Arends

Klara Hobza
© Klara Hobza

Klara Hobza

Animaloculomat

Wie nimmt die Spinne den Menschen wahr? Oder etwa der Tintenfisch? In Klara Hobzas experimenteller Maschine Animaloculomat können sich Museumsbesucherinnen und -besucher ein Bild davon machen, wie der Mensch wohl von Tieren unterschiedlichster Art wahrgenommen werden könnte. Klara Hobzas Projekt ist für jeden zum Mitmachen, zum Lernen und zur Unterhaltung da.

Die künstlerischen Arbeiten von Klara Hobza beinhalten die Wahlverwandten Charme und Komödie, unbeirrbare Analytik und Versagensangst. Die Experimente der Künstlerin entfalten sich durch die Medien Skulptur, Video, Performance und Zeichnung. Die Geschichten ihrer Arbeiten bewegen sich auf dem schmalen Grat zwischen Wissenschaft, Fiktion und Fantasie.

Klara Hobza (geb. 1975 in Plzeň/Pilsen, Tschechien) studierte an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste München, der Columbia University in New York und an der Rogue Film School in Los Angeles. Heute lebt und arbeitet die Künstlerin in Berlin.

Zu ihren Arbeiten zählen: Die Schlickschlacht zu Schillig (2016), Die große Basler Gipfelbergung (2014), Moving with Fervour into Moments of Levity (2012), Diving through Europe (2010 – wahrscheinlich 2035), Nay I’ll Have a Starling (seit 2006) und Paper Airplanes (seit 2004). Ihre Autobiografie ist als konzeptionelles Selbstporträt verfasst: Eine erste Version schrieb Hobza im Jahr 2002 aus der Perspektive von 2066 – zehn Jahre nach ihrem Tod. Bislang wurde die Autobiografie einmal überarbeitet.

Kuratorin für Bildende Kunst: Bergit Arends

Klara Hobza
© Klara Hobza