Assaf Gruber

The Conspicuous Parts

Assaf Gruber’s films and sculptures often deal with the interplay between ideologies of individuals and their personal biographies, and with the way in which both of these shape and influence private and public spheres and relationships. This focus also provides the background for the film installation at the Museum für Naturkunde in Berlin.

Daphne and Catherine work at the museum. The former joined the team recently as a taxidermist. The latter, a British writer, is doing research in the museum’s archive for her new novel. Her interest is directed at what strikes her as a shady museum expedition to Cuban coral reefs that was undertaken by East Germany in the late 1960s. During their chance encounter the two women start a rather unusual communication.

Gruber’s film challenges the ways in which institutions choose to represent and communicate scientific and historical facts – or presumptions. The life stories of the protagonists elucidate how the presentation of those facts is shaped by the desires of individuals: from possible colonial ambitions of explorers in the Caribbean to an unlikely obsession of a museum director at the time of the First World War and the resulting fantasy of a young taxidermist of today.

In the course of Gruber’s film we gradually lose the capacity to distinguish between scientific fact and artistic freedom. Our growing insecurity as to which of the film’s narrative elements belong in one field or the other confronts our unrelenting will to separate facts from assumptions and knowledge from memories in order to then deal with them in different ways – or rather not to deal with them at all.

 

This uncertainty is typical of the films and sculptures of Assaf Gruber (born 1980 in Jerusalem). They focus on the narrative power of objects and spaces. But as much as the works radiate this narrative potency, just as little do they reveal an unambiguous story.

 

Artist: Assaf Gruber
Curator: Dorothée Brill
Main roles: Caroline Clifford and Tina Pfurr
Production: Barbara Simon, Talking Projects
Camera: Jutta Pohlmann
Camera assistant: Judith Lentze

The film was produced in coproduction with the Center for Contemporary Art, Ujazdowski Castle, Warsaw, and with the support of the Ostrovsky Family Fund.

 

Assaf Gruber

Assaf Gruber

Eine klare Sache (The Conspicuous Parts)

Assaf Grubers künstlerische Praxis widmet sich immer wieder dem Zusammenhang zwischen den Weltanschauungen von Individuen und ihren persönlichen Biografien, wie auch der Art und Weise, in der beide private und öffentliche Räume und Beziehungen prägen. Dieser Fokus bildet auch den Hintergrund für die Filminstallation im Museum für Naturkunde.

Daphne und Catherine arbeiten im Museum. Die eine ist dort seit kurzem als Tierpräparatorin angestellt. Die andere, eine britische Schriftstellerin, recherchiert im Museumsarchiv für ihr neues Buch. Sie sucht Fakten über eine Expedition zu kubanischen Korallenriffen in der DDR der späten 1960er Jahre, die ihr dubios anmutet. Als sie zufällig aufeinander treffen, beginnen die Frauen eine eher ungewöhnliche Kommunikation.

Grubers Film befragt die Art, in der Institutionen wissenschaftliche und historische Fakten – oder Annahmen – darstellen und vermitteln. Die Geschichten der Protagonistinnen verdeutlichen, wie sehr diese Darstellung durch das Begehren und die Begehrlichkeiten einzelner Individuen geprägt werden: von den möglicherweise kolonialen Ambitionen von Forschern in der Karibik, zu der Leidenschaft eines Museumsdirektors zu Zeiten des Ersten Weltkriegs und den darauf aufbauenden Fantasien einer jungen Präparatorin der Gegenwart.

Im Laufe des Films entgleitet uns zunehmend die Möglichkeit, zwischen wissenschaftlichem Tatbestand und künstlerischer Freiheit zu unterscheiden und es wächst unsere Unsicherheit, in welches dieser beiden Felder die verschiedenen Erzählungen des Films gehören. Dadurch lenkt Gruber unser Augenmerk auf unsere kaum zu bremsende Entschlossenheit, Fakten von Annahmen und Wissen von Erinnerungen zu trennen, um beide in der Folge verschieden zu handhaben – oder gar nicht zu handhaben.

 

Verunsicherung ist für die Filme und Skulpturen von Assaf Gruber (geb. 1980 in Jerusalem) typisch. In ihrem Zentrum steht die erzählerische Kraft von Objekten und Räumen. Doch so sehr sie diese Kraft ausstrahlen und Erzählungen andeuten, so wenig lassen sie uns eindeutige Geschichten erfassen.

Der Film entstand in Co-Produktion mit dem Zentrum für Zeitgenössische Kunst, Ujazdowski Castle, Warschau und mit Unterstützung des Ostrovsky Family Fund.

 

Künstler: Assaf Gruber
Kuratorin: Dorothée Brill
Hauptrollen: Caroline Clifford und Tina Pfurr
Produktion: Barbara Simon, Talking Projects
Kamera: Jutta Pohlmann
Kamerassistenz: Judith Lentze

 

 

Assaf Gruber
© Museum für Naturkunde / Tobias Buddensieg