Elizabeth Price

BERLINWAL

The source materials for Elizabeth Price’s works are collections of artefacts and the locations where they are found. In her research process she looks at utilitarian objects, clothing, product design and technological apparatus. The artefacts, rhythmically combined with texts, images and sounds, often act out social occurrences and are bound into a techno-science history.

At the Natural History Museum in Berlin the artist’s starting point for her research are natural specimens found out of place. Price gleaned the objects in serendipitous events, in which they came into view by chance and by association. From these initial discoveries she digresses and develops the narrative of the work set within the history and architecture of the museum. For her installation Price seeks to create a relation between the objects’ history and the viewer through a sensuous and mesmerizing spectacle.

She is interested in the processes of attention, labour and embodiment. In her use of artefacts Price creates finely tuned frictions between affective modes that are played out as personal, intensive experiences.

 

Elizabeth Price (b. 1966 in Bradford, UK) holds degrees in Fine Art from the Ruskin School of Fine Art and Drawing, Oxford, the Royal College of Art, and a PhD from the University of Leeds. She was awarded the prestigious Turner Prize and the Paul Hamlyn Award, both in 2012. Her most recent works include A RESTORATION (2016) at the Ashmolean Museum in Oxford in partnership with the Pitt Rivers Museum, and the curated exhibition In a Dream You Saw a Way to Survive and You Were Full of Joy (2016–2017). Prices lives and works in London.

Curator: Bergit Arends

Elizabeth Price
© Museum für Naturkunde Berlin, Historische Bild- und Schriftgutsammlungen

Elizabeth Price

BERLINWAL

Die Ausgangsmaterialien für die Arbeiten von Elisabeth Price sind gesammelte Artefakte und deren Fundorte. Bei ihrer Recherche nimmt die Künstlerin Gebrauchsgegenstände, Kleidung, Produktdesign und technische Apparaturen in den Blick. Diese Artefakte, die rhythmisch mit Texten, Bildern und Klängen verknüpft werden, werden technik- und wissenschaftsgeschichtlich verortet und stellen häufig gesellschaftliche Begebenheiten nach.

Im Berliner Museum für Naturkunde begann Price ihre Recherche mit naturkundlichen Objekten, von denen sie einige bei ihren Streifzügen durch die Sammlungen assoziativ miteinander verknüpfte. Aus dieser Erkundung heraus entwickelte Price ihre eigene Erzählung des Werks, die sie innerhalb der Geschichte und der Architektur des Museums verortet. Mit ihrer Installation zielt Price darauf ab, durch ein sinnlich-faszinierendes Spektakel eine Beziehung zwischen der Geschichte der Objekte und den Betrachtern herzustellen.

Ihr Interesse gilt den Prozessen der Aufmerksamkeit, der Arbeit und der Verkörperung. Mit ihrem Einsatz von Artefakten erschafft Price feinjustierte Reibungsflächen zwischen affektiven Modi, die sich als persönliche, intensive Erfahrungen manifestieren.

 

Elisabeth Price (* 1966 in Bradford, Großbritannien) studierte bildende Kunst an der Ruskin School of Fine Art, Oxford, und am Royal College of Arts und promovierte an der University of Leeds. Im Jahr 2012 erhielt sie sowohl den renommierten Turner Prize als auch den Paul Hamlyn Award. Zu ihren jüngsten Arbeiten zählen A RESTORATION (2016) im Ashmolean Museum in Oxford in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Pitt Rivers Museum sowie die kuratierte Ausstellung In a Dream You Saw a Way to Survive and You Were Full of Joy (2016-2017). Price lebt und arbeitet in London.

Kuratorin: Bergit Arends

 

 

Elizabeth Price
© Museum für Naturkunde Berlin, Historische Bild- und Schriftgutsammlungen